Lucille Clifton

the terrible stories

The long-awaited tenth collection of poetry from the Shelley Memorial Prize-winning poet Lucille Clifton.
19 printed pages
Original publication


    Crystal Vega-Huertashared an impressionlast month
    👍Worth reading


    Crystal Vega-Huertahas quotedlast month
    tell yourself that anytime now

    we will rise and walk away

    from somebody else’s life.

    any time.
    Crystal Vega-Huertahas quotedlast month
    child, i tell you now it was not

    the animal blood i was hiding from,

    it was the poet in her, the poet and

    the terrible stories she could tell.
    Menna Abu Zahrahas quoted4 months ago
    She has received many fellowships, awards, and distinctions for her poetry collections and children’s books, including the Shelley Memorial Prize, the Charity Randall Citation, and an Emmy Award from the American Academy of Television Arts and Sciences. She is the only author to have two books of poetry chosen as finalists for the Pulitzer Prize in one year: Good Woman: Poems and a Memoir 1969–1980 and Next: New Poems, both from BOA, in 1988. These were followed by Quilting: Poems 1987–1990 (BOA, 1991), and The Book of Light (Copper Canyon, 1993). She lives in Columbia, Maryland.

On the bookshelves

    BOA Editions
    BOA Editions
    • 164
    • 35
Drag & drop your files (not more than 5 at once)