George Eliot

Silas Marner

‘Silas Marner: The Weaver of Raveloe’, published in 1861, is the third novel by George Eliot, the pen name of Mary Anne Evans. The seemingly simple story of the weaver Silas Marner deals with issues like community, industrialisation and positive transformation, in sophisticated and engaging ways. Silas, a weaver in a city in the north of England, is falsely accused of theft and cast out by his circle of friends. He moves to a city in the Midlands where he lives as a loner for many years. His hoarded wealth is stolen by the renegade son of the town’s wealthiest family but he soon finds a far greater treasure which he nurtures with abiding love. ‘Silas Marner’ is an inspiring work which demonstrates the excellent fruits of forgiveness, loyalty and love.
This audiobook is currently unavailable
Copyright owner
Author's Republic


How did you like the book?

Sign in or Register

Open the app & listen

Bookmate now offers audiobooks! We have stacks for you to listen to, but right now you can only do that on your phone or tablet via our apps.

Drag & drop your files (not more than 5 at once)